Shock in the Emirates as Wenger drops this new signing from Europa League squad

Get up to date on Arsenal transfer news, injury updates, fixtures, not restricting reports on Arsenal Ladies and share your opinions on Goonerhead

ARSENAL have included a surprise name in their Europa League squad for the rest of the season.

Clubs are allowed to make up to three changes after the transfer window and Arsenal have surprised fans with their inclusion.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is not eligible after Borussia Dortmund were dumped into the Europa League after finishing third in their Champions League.

But Henrik Mkhitaryan has been added to the list with Manchester United into the final 16 of the top competition.

And Arsenal have also added forgotten man Santi Cazorla – who is unlikely to play anyway because of injury.

Cazorla joins Mkhitaryan and Konstantinos Mavropanos as the additions while Chuba Akpom, Krystian Bielik, Francis Coquelin, Mathieu Debuchy, Olivier Giroud, Marcus McGuane, Tafari Moore, Julio Pleguezuelo, Jeff Reine-Adelaide, Alexis Sanchez, Ben Sheaf and Theo Walcott drop out.

UEFA rules state: “For all matches from the start of the round of 32, a club may register a maximum of three new eligible players for the remaining matches in the current competition. Such registration must be completed by 1 February 2018 (24.00CET) at the latest. This deadline cannot be extended.

“One player from the above quota of three who has been fielded in a UEFA club competition group stage match for another club in the current season may exceptionally be registered, provided that the player has not been fielded:

a. in the same competition for another club; or

b. for another club that is currently in the same competition.”


You may also like...